Stan Leonard Player of the Year

Stan Leonard Player of the Year

Stan Leonard became a Golf Professional in 1938 and played almost exclusively on the Canadian Professional Golf Tour until 1954. He was appointed the position of Head Professional at Marine Drive Golf Club. He won the PGA Championship of Canada eight times from 1940-1961, a record that still stands. Leonard also won three times on the PGA Tour and recorded four top-10 finishes at The Masters in his career. He posthumously received a Lifetime Achievement Award from the PGA of BC in 2006.

The Stan Leonard Player of the Year Award recognizes exceptional play in tournament competition and is influenced heavily by the PGA of BC Order of Merit, among other accomplishments throughout the year.

Due to disruptions to the PGA of BC's 2020 championship and regional-tour schedules due to COVID-19, as well as the PGA of Canada's national-championship schedule, this award was not presented in 2020. 

Past recipients of the Stan Leonard Player of the Year Award:

2019 - Bryn Parry
2018 - Oliver Tubb
2017 - Philip Jonas
2016 - Gordy Scutt
2015 - Bryn Parry
2014 - Gordy Scutt
2013 - Greg Matchaler
2012 - Brad Clapp
2011 - Bryn Parry
2010 - Bryn Parry
2009 - Bryn Parry
2008 - Bryn Parry
2007 - Philip Jonas
2006 - Bryn Parry
2005 - Bryn Parry
2004 - Philip Jonas
2003 - Philip Jonas
2002 - Dean Claggett
2001 - David Bolton
2000 - Bryn Parry
1999 - Doug Morgan
1998 - Mark Ciupka